April 1, 2025

RE: \i

ACTION NO.: 25-BOR-1528

Dear Ms. _:

Enclosed is a copy of the decision resulting from the hearing held in the above-referenced matter.

In arriving at a decision, the State Hearing Officer is governed by the Public Welfare Laws of West
Virginia and the rules and regulations established by the Department of Human Services. These
same laws and regulations are used in all cases to assure that all persons are treated alike.

You will find attached an explanation of possible actions you may take if you disagree with the
decision reached in this matter.

Sincerely,
Kristi Logan

Certified State Hearing Officer
Member, State Board of Review

Encl: Recourse to Hearing Decision
Form IG-BR-29

cc: |

Board of Review ¢ 1900 Kanawha Boulevard East  Building 6, Suite 817 ¢ Charleston, West Virginia 25305
304.352.0805 « OIGBOR@QWV.GOV




WEST VIRGINIA OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL
BOARD OF REVIEW

Resident,

V. Action Number: 25-BOR-1528
Facility.

DECISION OF STATE HEARING OFFICER

INTRODUCTION

This is the decision of the State Hearing Officer resulting from a fair hearing for
This hearing was held in accordance with the provisions found in Chapter 700 of the Office of
Inspector General Common Chapters Manual. This fair hearing was convened on March 26, 2025.

The matter before the Hearing Officer arises from the February 21, 2025, decision by the Facility
to involuntarily discharge the Resident from *

At the hearing, the Facility appeared by _ Administrator. Appearing as a witness
for the Facility was ﬂ Business Office. The Resident appeared pro se. The witnesses

were placed under oath and the following documents were admitted into evidence.

Facility’s Exhibits:

None

Resident’s Exhibits:

None

After a review of the record, including testimony, exhibits, and stipulations admitted into evidence

at the hearing, and after assessing the credibility of all witnesses and weighing the evidence in
consideration of the same, the Hearing Officer sets forth the following Findings of Fact.
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1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

8)

9)

10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Resident was admitted to _ hereinafter referred to as

Facility, on October 2, 2024, as a private pay patient.

The Resident’s son, _ paid $12,450 to the Facility upon the Resident’s
admission.

On December 4, 2024, Mr. _ paid $16,700 to the Facility on behalf of the
Resident.

The two payments made by Mr. _ were applied to the Resident’s October and
November 2024 bill at the Facility.

The Facility sent a letter to Mr. _ on December 12, 2024, advising him of the
Resident’s outstanding balance.

The Facility left a voicemail message with Mr. _ on December 13, 2024,
advising him of the Resident’s outstanding balance.

The Facility left a voicemail message with Mr. _ on January 10, 2025, and sent
a letter advising him that payment for the Resident was needed.

The Facility spoke with Mr. _ on January 15, 2025, who advised that he had
mailed a $6,000 check for the Resident’s bill and he would apply for Long Term Care
Medicaid benefits for the Resident as her funds were getting low.

The Facility attempted to contact Mr. _ by phone on January 22, 2025, January
24, 2025, and February 13, 2025, regarding the Resident’s outstanding balance but was
unable to speak with him or leave a voicemail message.

The Facility sent letters to Mr. _ on January 24, 2025, February 7, 2025, and
February 14, 2025, requesting payment for the Resident’s account.

The Facility did not receive the $6,000 payment that was promised by Mr. _

On February 21, 2025, the Facility hand-delivered a 30-Day Notice of Discharge to the
Resident and sent a copy of the notice certified mail to Mr. _

On March 17, 2025, the Facility assisted the Resident in applying for Long Term Care
Medicaid benefits when it discovered that Mr. ﬂ had not applied on the
Resident’s behalf.

The Resident’s outstanding balance with the Facility is $60,072.31.
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APPLICABLE POLICY

Code of Federal Regulation — 42 CFR 8483.15(c) provide that the nursing facility administrator or
designee must permit each resident to remain in the facility, and not be transferred or discharged
from the facility unless one of the following conditions is met:

(1) Facility requirements

(i) The facility must permit each resident to remain in the facility, and not transfer or
discharge the resident from the facility unless-

(A) The transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident's welfare and the resident's
needs cannot be met in the facility;

(B) The transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident's health has improved
sufficiently so the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;

(C) The safety of individuals in the facility is endangered due to the clinical or behavioral
status of the resident;

(D) The health of individuals in the facility would otherwise be endangered,;

(E) The resident has failed, after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for (or to have
paid under Medicare or Medicaid) a stay at the facility. Non-payment applies if the
resident does not submit the necessary paperwork for third party payment or after the
third party, including Medicare or Medicaid, denies the claim and the resident refuses to
pay for his or her stay. For a resident who becomes eligible for Medicaid after admission
to a facility, the facility may charge a resident only allowable charges under Medicaid; or

(F) The facility ceases to operate.

(if) The facility may not transfer or discharge the resident while the appeal is pending,
when a resident exercises his or her right to appeal a transfer or discharge notice from the
facility, unless the failure to discharge or transfer would endanger the health or safety of
the resident or other individuals in the facility. The facility must document the danger
that failure to transfer or discharge would pose.

(2) Documentation. When the facility transfers or discharges a resident under any of
the circumstances specified in paragraphs (c)(1)(i)(A) through (F) of this section, the
facility must ensure that the transfer or discharge is documented in the resident's
medical record and appropriate information is communicated to the receiving health care
institution or provider.

(i) Documentation in the resident’'s medical record must include:
(A) The basis for the transfer per paragraph (c)(1)(i) of this section.

(B) In the case of paragraph (c)(1)(i)(A) of this section, the specific resident need(s) that
cannot be met, facility attempts to meet the resident needs, and the service available
at the receiving facility to meet the need(s).
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(ii) The documentation required by paragraph (c)(2)(i) of this section must be made by

(A) The resident's physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph
(©)(1)(A) or (B) of this section; and

(B) A physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(C) or
(D) of this section.

(iii) Information provided to the receiving provider must include a minimum of the
following:

(A) Contact information of the practitioner responsible for the care of the resident
(B) Resident representative information including contact information.

(C) Advance Directive information.

(D) All special instructions or precautions for ongoing care, as appropriate.

(E) Comprehensive care plan goals,

(F) All other necessary information, including a copy of the resident's discharge
summary, consistent with §483.21(c)(2), as applicable, and any other documentation, as
applicable, to ensure a safe and effective transition of care.

(3) Notice before transfer. Before a facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility
must -

(i) Notify the resident and the resident's representative(s) of the transfer or discharge and
the reasons for the move in writing and in a language and manner they understand. The
facility must send a copy of the notice to a representative of the Office of the State Long-
Term Care Ombudsman.

(i1) Record the reasons for the transfer or discharge in the resident's medical record in
accordance with paragraph (c)(2) of this section; and

(iii) Include in the notice the items described in paragraph (c)(5) of this section.
(4) Timing of the notice.

(i) Except as specified in paragraphs (c)(4)(ii) and (8) of this section, the notice of transfer
or discharge required under this section must be made by the facility at least 30 days
before the resident is transferred or discharged.

(if) Notice must be made as soon as practicable before transfer or discharge when -

e The safety of individuals in the facility would be endangered under paragraph
(©)(1)(1)(C) of this section;

e The health of individuals in the facility would be endangered, under paragraph
(©)(1)(1)(D) of this section;

e The resident's health improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate transfer
or discharge, under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(B) of this section;
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e Animmediate transfer or discharge is required by the resident's urgent medical
needs, under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(A) of this section; or

e A resident has not resided in the facility for 30 days.

(5) Contents of the notice. The written notice specified in paragraph (c)(3) of this section
must include the following:

(i) The reason for transfer or discharge;
(i) The effective date of transfer or discharge;
(iii) The location to which the resident is transferred or discharged,;

(iv) A statement of the resident's appeal rights, including the name, address (mailing and
email), and telephone number of the entity which receives such requests; and information
on how to obtain an appeal form and assistance in completing the form and submitting
the appeal hearing request;

(v) The name, address (mailing and email) and telephone number of the Office of the
State Long-Term Care Ombudsman;

(vi) For nursing facility residents with intellectual and developmental disabilities or
related disabilities, the mailing and email address and telephone number of the agency
responsible for the protection and advocacy of individuals with developmental disabilities
established under Part C of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights
Act of 2000; and

(vii) For nursing facility residents with a mental disorder or related disabilities, the
mailing and email address and telephone number of the agency responsible for the
protection and advocacy of individuals with a mental disorder established under the
Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Il Individuals Act.

(6) Changes to the notice. If the information in the notice changes prior to effecting the
transfer or discharge, the facility must update the recipients of the notice as soon as
practicable once the updated information becomes available.

(7) Orientation for transfer or discharge. A facility must provide and document
sufficient preparation and orientation to residents to ensure safe and orderly transfer or
discharge from the facility. This orientation must be provided in a form and manner that
the resident can understand.

DISCUSSION

Federal regulations permit the involuntary discharge of a resident if the resident has failed, after
reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for or to have paid under Medicare or Medicaid a stay at
the facility. Nonpayment applies if the resident does not submit the necessary paperwork for third
party payment or after the third party, including Medicare or Medicaid, denies the claim and the
resident refuses to pay for his or her stay. The Facility initiated the discharge process for the
Resident due to an outstanding balance owed for her care.
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The Resident testified that she was unaware that her health insurance would not pay for her stay
at the nursing facility or that she was admitted as a private pay patient. The Resident stated she is
in the process of applying for Long Term Care Medicaid benefits and has requested copies of her
bank statements for the Medicaid application. The Resident contended that she is unable to care
for herself and she cannot afford to pay for in-home assistance.

The Facility testified that the Resident’s son has refused to pay her outstanding balance and will
not answer multiple phone calls and letters requesting payment. The Facility stated the Resident
has capacity and has access to her bank account but has refused to write a check for her outstanding
bill.

Federal regulations stipulate that when the facility transfers or discharges a resident due to
nonpayment, the facility must ensure that the transfer or discharge is documented in the resident's
medical record. The Facility failed to provide any evidence for the hearing, including the
Resident’s medical record documenting the reason for her proposed discharge.

Whereas the Facility failed to provide the Resident’s medical record documenting the reason for

her involuntary discharge as required by federal regulations, the Facility’s proposed discharge of
the Resident cannot be affirmed.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1) Federal regulations permit the involuntary discharge of a resident if the resident has failed,
after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for or to have paid under Medicare or
Medicaid a stay at the facility.

2) The resident’s medical record must document the reason for an involuntary discharge.

3) The Facility failed to provide the Resident’s medical record documenting the reason for
her involuntary discharge.

4) The Facility failed to adhere to federal regulations in the proposed discharge of the
Resident.

DECISION

It is the decision of the State Hearing Officer to reverse the proposal of_

in the involuntary discharge of the Resident from its facility.

ENTERED this 1%t day of April 2025.

Kristi Logan
Certified State Hearing Officer
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