
Board of Review • 1900 Kanawha Boulevard East • Building 6, Suite 817 • Charleston, West Virginia 25305  
304.352.0805 • OIGBOR@WV.GOV

November 13, 2024 

 
 
 

RE:    v. DoHS/BFA 
ACTION NO.: 24-BOR-3501  

Dear : 

Enclosed is a copy of the decision resulting from the hearing held in the above-referenced matter. 

In arriving at a decision, the State Hearing Officer is governed by the Public Welfare Laws of West 
Virginia and the rules and regulations established by the Department of Human Services.  These 
same laws and regulations are used in all cases to ensure that all persons are treated alike.   

You will find attached an explanation of possible actions you may take if you disagree with the 
decision reached in this matter. 

Sincerely,  

Kristi Logan 
Certified State Hearing Officer  
Member, State Board of Review  

Encl:  Recourse to Hearing Decision 
           Form IG-BR-29 

cc:     Kristen Moore,  DoHS  
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WEST VIRGINIA OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL  
BOARD OF REVIEW  

,  

  Appellant, 

v. Action Number: 24-BOR-3501 

WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
BUREAU FOR FAMILY ASSISTANCE,   

  Respondent.  

DECISION OF STATE HEARING OFFICER 

INTRODUCTION

This is the decision of the State Hearing Officer resulting from a fair hearing for   
This hearing was held in accordance with the provisions found in Chapter 700 of the Office of 
Inspector General Common Chapters Manual.  This fair hearing was convened on November 12, 
2024. 

The matter before the Hearing Officer arises from the September 18, 2024, decision by the 
Respondent to reduce the Appellant’s Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
benefits. 

At the hearing, the Respondent appeared by Kristen Moore,  DoHS.  The Appellant 
represented herself. The witnesses were placed under oath and the following documents were 
admitted into evidence.  

Department’s Exhibits: 

None 

Appellant’s Exhibits: 

None 

After a review of the record, including testimony, exhibits, and stipulations admitted into evidence 
at the hearing, and after assessing the credibility of all witnesses and weighing the evidence in 
consideration of the same, the Hearing Officer sets forth the following Findings of Fact. 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 

1) The Appellant was a recipient of SNAP benefits for a three-person assistance group. 

2) On August 13, 2024, the Respondent mailed the Consolidated Work Notice to the 
Appellant advising that she was required to register with WorkForce WV by September 
11, 2024, to continue receiving SNAP benefits. 

3) On September 17, 2024, the Respondent imposed a work registration penalty against the 
Appellant when it was determined that she had not registered with WorkForce WV. 

4) The Appellant’s SNAP benefits were decreased from $766 to $536, effective October 1, 
2024, due to the removal of the Appellant from the SNAP assistance group. 

5) The Appellant had previously been exempted from work registration requirements due to 
the age of her youngest  

6)  turned seven years old in  2024. 

7) The Appellant registered with WorkForce WV on October 3, 2024. 

8) The Appellant has two previous work registration penalties. 

APPLICABLE POLICY

Code of Federal Regulations 7 CFR §273.7 describes work requirements and SNAP: 

(a) Work requirements 
(1) As a condition of eligibility for SNAP benefits, each household member who is not 
exempt under paragraph (b)(1) of this section must comply with the following SNAP 
work requirements:  

(i) Register for work or be registered by the State agency at the time of application and 
every 12 months after initial registration. The member required to register need not 
complete the registration form.  
(ii) Participate in a Food Stamp Employment and Training (E&T) program if assigned by 
the State agency, to the extent required by the State agency;  
(iii) Participate in a workfare program if assigned by the State agency;  
(iv) Provide the State agency or its designee with sufficient information regarding 
employment status or availability for work;  
(v) Report to an employer to whom referred by the State agency or its designee if the 
potential employment meets the suitability requirements described in paragraph (h) of 
this section;  
(vi) Accept a bona fide offer of suitable employment, as defined in paragraph (h) of this 
section, at a site or plant not subject to a strike or lockout, at a wage equal to the higher 
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of the Federal or State minimum wage or 80 percent of the wage that would have 
governed had the minimum hourly rate under section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards 
Act been applicable to the offer of employment.  
(vii) Do not voluntarily and without good cause quit a job of 30 or more hours a week or 
reduce work effort to less than 30 hours a week, in accordance with paragraph (j) of this 
section… 

(3) Each State agency will determine the meaning of any other terms used in paragraph 
(a)(1) of this section; the procedures for establishing compliance with SNAP work 
requirements; and whether an individual is complying with SNAP work requirements. A 
State agency must not use a meaning, procedure, or determination that is less restrictive 
on SNAP recipients than is a comparable meaning, procedure, or determination under the 
State agency’s program funded under title IV-A of the Social Security Act. 

(c)State Agency Responsibilities 
(1)(i) The State agency must register for work each household member not exempted by 
the provisions of paragraph (b)(1) of this section. The State agency must permit the 
applicant to complete a record or form for each household member required to register 
for employment in accordance with paragraph (a)(1)(i) of this section. Household 
members are considered to have registered when an identifiable work registration form is 
submitted to the State agency or when the registration is otherwise annotated or recorded 
by the State agency.  
(ii) During the certification process, the State agency must provide a written notice and 
oral explanation to the household of all applicable work requirements for all members of 
the household and identify which household member is subject to which work 
requirement. These work requirements include the general work requirement in paragraph 
(a) of this section, mandatory E&T in paragraph (a)(1)(ii) of this section, and the 
ABAWD work requirement at §273.24. The written notice and oral explanation must be 
provided in accordance with (c)(1)(iii) of this section. This written notice and oral 
explanation must also be provided to the household when a previously exempt household 
member or a new household member becomes subject to these work requirements, and at 
recertification.  
(iii) The consolidated written notice must include all pertinent information related to each 
of the applicable work requirements, including: An explanation of each applicable work 
requirement; which individuals are subject to which work requirement; exemptions from 
each applicable work requirement; an explanation of the process to request an exemption 
(including contact information to request an exemption); the rights and responsibilities of 
each applicable work requirement; what is required to maintain eligibility under each 
applicable work requirement; pertinent dates by which an individual must take any 
actions to remain in compliance with each applicable work requirement; the 
consequences for failure to comply with each applicable work requirement; an 
explanation of the process for requesting good cause (including examples of good cause 
circumstances and contact information to initiate a good cause request); and any other 
information the State agency believes would assist the household members with 
compliance.  
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(f)(2) Disqualification periods. The following disqualification periods will be imposed:  
(i) For the first occurrence of noncompliance, the individual will be disqualified until the 
later of:  
(A) The date the individual complies, as determined by the State agency; (B) One month; 
or (C) Up to three months, at State agency option.  
(ii) For the second occurrence, until the later of: (A) The date the individual complies, as 
determined by the State agency; (B) Three months; or (C) Up to six months, at State 
agency option.  
(iii) For the third or subsequent occurrence, until the later of: (A) The date the individual 
complies, as determined by the State agency; (B) Six months; (C) A date determined by 
the State agency; or (D) At the option of the State agency, permanently. 

West Virginia Income Maintenance Manual Chapter 14 explains SNAP work requirements: 

14.3.1.A Registration Requirements 
All individuals must register for employment with WorkForce West Virginia, within 30 
days of the date of the original approval, unless exempt. Clients must register every 12 
months thereafter, regardless of the length of time that WorkForce West Virginia 
considers the registration valid.  

The Consolidated Work Notice (CWN) is sent to the SNAP AG when an individual(s) is 
required to register with job service through Workforce WV. The CWN details who must 
register and the due date of registration. The CWN also explains why the individual(s) is 
required to register and how to register. Actions which constitute a registration are defined 
by WorkForce West Virginia and the eligibility system must:   

 Match with WorkForce West Virginia. Registration date updated.  
 Match the date returned from WorkForce West Virginia is more than 12 

months old. The client must register again.  
 Match with WorkForce West Virginia with inactive job status and no job 

preference. The client must choose a job preference and become active to be 
considered registered.  

 Match with WorkForce West Virginia with inactive job status and with job 
preference. The client must become active to be considered registered.  

 Match with WorkForce West Virginia with active job status and no job 
preference. The client must choose a job preference to be considered 
registered.  

Once the client registers with WorkForce West Virginia for Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) purposes, he cannot be required to register more often than 
every 12 months, even when the benefit is opened and closed within the 12-month period. 
This is tracked through the eligibility system. 

14.5 SNAP Work Requirement Penalties 
A Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) penalty is imposed when clients 
do not comply with a work requirement and do not have good cause. See Section 20.2 for 
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the effect of penalties on eligibility for Emergency Assistance (EA). When determining 
the correct number of penalties, the Worker must look at the total number of penalties 
previously served, not just the number of penalties for each work requirement. The 
penalty must be served unless the client meets an exemption. The penalty is never applied 
to an entire assistance group (AG), only to the client who does not comply. When the 
reported exemption ends, the client is subject to the original penalty, unless he has 
complied or meets another exemption. Penalties are applied sequentially, regardless of 
the requirement not met. In addition, penalties are applied consecutively, and one penalty 
must end before another one is imposed. 

14.2.1.B Exemptions from SNAP Work Requirements 
The following SNAP clients are exempt from the SNAP work requirements and are not 
subject to a SNAP penalty for failure to comply:  

 A person under age 16.  
 A person age 16 or 17 who is not the SNAP payee or primary person.  
 A person age 16 or 17 who is attending school or enrolled in an employment 

training program on at least a half-time basis.  
 A person enrolled at least half-time in any recognized school, recognized training 

program, or institution of higher education. 
 A person age 60 or over.  
 A parent, or other member of the AG who has the responsibility for the care of a 

child under the age of six, or of an incapacitated and/or disabled individual.  
 Individuals receiving Unemployment Compensation Insurance (UCI) from any 

state. This includes persons receiving benefits under the Trade Readjustment 
Allotment (TRA).  

 Individuals who are physically or mentally unfit to engage in full-time 
employment.  

 Regular participants in a drug addiction or alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation 
program, either on a resident or non-resident basis.  

 Individuals who are employed or self-employed and working a minimum of 30 
hours per week, or who are receiving weekly earnings equal to the federal 
minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours. 

 Individuals who receive WV WORKS and do not meet any of the other SNAP 
exemptions listed above, so long as they are subject to, and complying with, a 
WV WORKS work requirement.  

When a client loses eligibility for an exemption, the Worker must determine if the 
client meets any other exemption criteria prior to imposing a penalty. If the exemption 
is lost during the certification period and clients are not required to report the change, 
they become subject to SNAP work requirements at redetermination. However, if the 
client reports losing the exemption, he becomes subject to SNAP work requirements 
at the time the change is reported. 

14.5.1.B Non-Voluntary Quit Penalties
A client who refuses or fails to register with Workforce West Virginia, refuses 
employment, or refuses to provide information about employment status and job 
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availability is subject to the following penalties for the full penalty period or until he 
reports a change which makes him exempt from the work requirements.  

 First violation: The client is removed from the assistance group (AG) for at least 
three months or until he/she meets an exemption. If after three months, the client 
has not complied or met an exemption, the penalty continues until he/she does 
comply or meets an exemption for some reason other than Unemployment 
Compensation Insurance (UCI)- related activities.  

 Second violation: The client is removed from the AG for six months or until 
he/she meets an exemption. If after six months, the client has not complied or met 
an exemption, the penalty continues until he/she does comply or meets an 
exemption for some reason other than UCI-related activities.  

 Third and subsequent violations: The client is removed from the AG for twelve 
months or until he/she meets an exemption. If after 12 months, the client has not 
complied or met an exemption, the penalty continues until he/she does comply or 
meets an exemption for some reason other than UCI-related activities.

DISCUSSION 

Pursuant to policy and federal regulations, an individual must register with Workforce WV within 
30 days of the date of initial SNAP approval and every 12 months thereafter as a condition of 
eligibility to receive SNAP benefits, unless exempt. An individual who fails to comply by the due 
date established on the notice to register is subject to a SNAP penalty. For third and subsequent 
work registration penalties, the recipient is ineligible for SNAP for twelve months. 

The Respondent notified the Appellant on August 13, 2024, that she was required to register with 
WorkForce WV by September 11, 2024, to continue receiving SNAP benefits. A penalty was 
imposed against the Appellant, with an effective date of October 1, 2024, when the registration 
had not been completed. The Appellant’s SNAP benefits were reduced due to her removal from 
the SNAP assistance group. 

The Appellant testified that she thought her registration was active but realized that it had lapsed. 
The Appellant stated she was confused about the different policy regarding work registration 
requirements and Able-Bodied Adult Without a Dependent (ABAWD) work requirements. The 
Appellant stated she was exempt from ABAWD work requirements due to her children’s age and 
thought she was also exempt from work registration requirements. The Appellant confirmed that 
her oldest child is seven years old and that she is not working at least thirty hours a week. The 
Appellant reported no exemptions from work registration requirements. 

The Respondent provided proper notice regarding the requirement for the Appellant to register 
with WorkForce WV. The Appellant did not register with WorkForce until October 3, 2024, after 
the effective date of the work registration penalty. Whereas the Appellant failed to register with 
WorkForce WV prior to the onset of the work registration penalty, the Respondent acted in 
accordance with policy in the removal of the Appellant from the SNAP assistance group and 
subsequent reduction in benefits. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1) SNAP recipients are required to register with WorkForce WV every 12 months, or meet an 
exemption, to receive SNAP benefits.  

3) The Respondent notified the Appellant of her requirement to register with WorkForce WV, 
or meet an exemption, to continue receiving SNAP benefits. 

4) A work registration penalty was imposed against the Appellant, removing her from the 
SNAP assistance group, when she failed to register or meet an exemption. 

5) The Appellant no longer meets an exemption and was required to comply with work 
registration requirements. 

6) As this is the third work registration penalty, the Appellant is ineligible to be included in 
SNAP for twelve months.

DECISION 

It is the decision of the State Hearing Officer to uphold the decision of the Respondent to reduce 
the Appellant’s Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits due to the imposition of a 
work registration penalty. 

ENTERED this 13th day of November 2024. 

____________________________  
Kristi Logan 
Certified State Hearing Officer  


